Afghanistan

April 18 Eyewitness Kabul – Kathy Kelly

Brother and sister in the street of Qala-i-Sha...

Join a Peace Action briefing conference call with Kathy Kelly of Voices for Creative Nonviolence.

Wednesday April 18 at 9 pm Eastern, 8 pm Central and 6 pm Pacific
Kathy Kelly recently returned from Afghanistan where she lived in a working class area of Kabul and gained firsthand insights into how families tried to get by during the harshest winter on record.
Conference call number: 712-432-1690 Code: 130282#
Kathy Kelly co-coordinates Voices for Creative Nonviolence, a campaign to end U.S. military and economic warfare.  She has traveled to Afghanistan five times in the past two years.  Voices organizes small delegations intent on learning more about conditions faced by ordinary people in Afghanistan. They work closely with the Afghan Youth Peace Volunteers in search of non-military solutions to end the war.

Kathy will also be one of the featured speakers at the NATO Counter-Summit  for Peace and Economic Justice in Chicago May 18 & 19.

In 2009, Kathy and a small delegation visited Pakistan, aiming to learn more about the effects of U.S. drone warfare on the civilian population and to better understand consequences of U.S. foreign policy in Pakistan. With a second delegation to Pakistan, in 2010, Kathy visited with refugees in the Swat Valley and also traveled to Peshawar, close to the border between Afghanistan and Pakistan.

Power to the peaceful,

Judith Le Blanc

Field Director

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s